When things go wrong

It’s been  a tough couple of weeks. I’ve coped with it by closing in on myself. Isolation is my go-to defense mechanism. As such blogging has been on the light side.  Writing posts ensures I look outside my own shrinking world and gain a little perspective.  Things have settled down a little now and I’m ready to rejoin the world again, or at least my own little, safe corner of the world.

Recently I haven’t made much. I started making a blanket from a gorgeous robot cotton and mint dimple fleece. I laid it all out flat and pinned together. I then embarked upon the quest of free hand quilting.

Suffice to say, it didn’t work, the stitches looked great on the top layer but terribly puckered on the dimple fleece side. Unfortunately, I didn’t see this until I was about half way through.

I’ve been un-picking ever since. I’m still planning on making the blanket but it will be with a simple stitching around the edge. I think it’s best I have another go at freehand quilting on a much smaller project with cotton backing.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

