My First Foray into Jersey Fabrics

I’m really proud of my jersey top. I picked up the pattern and fabric from Crafty Sew & So. It feels lovely and soft to wear, can’t wait until the weather warms up and I can show it off properly.

20160228_172556.jpg

 

I used a  Grainline Studio pattern. It was simple to follow, only two pieces along with bias binding. There’s also an option to add a pocket, hence the name Tiny Pocket Tank, but I didn’t think I needed it with this material. The pattern recommends around one and a half metres but I got away with one by cutting a couple of pieces of binding for the neck and joined them together. There’s a useful tutorial  on ensuring the neckline remains flat, it’s a little fiddly but turned out very well.

20160228_172551

Sarah at Crafty Sew & So helped me with the bust adjustment, it was way easier than I thought it would be. Essentially we had to add three cm to the patterns bust. It’s a brilliant fit, much better than squeezing my DDs into a B cup.

20160228_172559.jpg

Next time I may make the neckline a little higher but other than that I am absolutely delighted with it.

I’ve started working on another top of the same pattern. This one is made of very light weight satin and rather more difficult to work with. I’m planning on using silk bias binding instead of attempting to cut it from the material and having lots of help from Sarah again.

20160224_173019

One thought on “My First Foray into Jersey Fabrics

Leave a Reply

