Finishing Unmade Projects

Before Christmas I wrote a blog entitled Things I Have Yet to Make. I was feeling a bit down about having all these uncompleted things hanging over my head. In hindsight I was more than likely channelling my stresses into these things so I didn’t have to think about Christmas.

I’m starting to feel a bit better now that the pressures of this time of year are beginning to dissipate. When I sat down with a bag of unfinished bits I didn’t feel overwhelmed I simply took out the first thing. An unfinished make up bag which I had sewn the on the wrong side.

It was easy enough to unpick  and didn’t take long to finish off.

20160102_103900.jpg
If you want to make one yourself, there are little kits with an instruction booklet available at Crafty Sew & So. You will see some fabulous hand modelling by yours truly.

The next thing I finished off was a little fabric box for all those loose threads and bits of fabric. I was given a beautiful bundle of Cath Kidston fabrics last year and used the last bits to make this box.

 

fabricbox.jpg
My husband is very happy my sewing will be a bit tidier now

The next thing I did was tackle the French seams of my Fifi pyjama top. If you’ve not run across French seams before they are a pain in the bum. I’d managed to attach the back three panels upside down. I sat in front of the TV and unpicked the seams and bias binding. I’m not going to attempt this again at home. I shall be going into Crafty Sew & So to get a bit of expert advice.

fifi

I shall be finishing off lots of other bits over the coming months and hopefully get on with a bit more writing too.

3 thoughts on “Finishing Unmade Projects

  1. Nice one Bekki! You have inspired me to finish some of the Many UFOs that I have around- but I’m also going to let go of a few tricky ones which have been giving me nightmares! Here’s to more happy (even if not always right first time) sewing this year! Remember, it’s not a mistake, it’s a “design decision”! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

