Today I made rhubarb crumble

On a visit to my in laws I picked up some lovely lovely Rhubarb. I’ve never made anything with Rhubarb  before so I thought I’d go with a simple crumble.

Freshly picked rhubarb
Freshly picked rhubarb

Decided straight off this crumble would be for my husband. As I don’t really eat Rhubarb it didn’t feel like a ‘safe food,’ I have been challenging a fair few things  relating to my eating disorder recently and decided not to push myself too far. 

For the Filling

250g Rhubarb, 50g Golden caster sugar, 1 1/2 Tablespoons Port (if you fancy)

Rhubarb chopped up
Rhubarb all chopped up

For the Crumble

70g self-raising flour, 42g chilled butter, 25g light brown muscovado sugar,

  • Pop the Rhubarb sugar and Port into a pan, cover and simmer over a very low heat for around 15 minutes or the rhubarb is soft but still holding it’s shape.
  • Place rhubarb in a small baking dish. Preheat the oven to 200 c (180 c fan)

now comes the terrifying bit….

  • Form a crumbly mixture by rubbing butter and flour together using your fingers!!!!!

My thoughts went from this isn’t so bad to If I don’t get this crap off my hands soon i’m going to cry then back to a slightly calmer I can do this for a few more seconds. 

  •  Add the sugar mixing with your hands!!

This was a tiny bit easier as it was dryer and stuck to my hands less.

  • Sprinkle the mixture on top of the Rhubarb and bake for 25-30 mins or until golden brown
    All finished
    All finished

    My Husband said it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

